Chit-Chat Check-In #94 Transcript

Hello, this is your Captain speaking. It's the 29th anniversary of the day that my soulmate agreed to take my hand in marriage. So I am reflecting and celebrating that momentous decision on her part. Which again, as I might have said in the past, didn't seem on paper to have a lot in it for her. So thank you, Susie.

This is a song that ended up on Love Is the King as "Even I Can See," and I thought that I'd also share a couple of versions that led up to the finished version. One that has a lot of different lyrics that ended up in different places on Love Is the King. "Gwendolyn" makes an appearance, which is interesting. I don't remember that being separated out into a different song. But it happened.

So yeah, I thought we'd let you see the thought process and songwriting process of getting from point A to point B in a song that is absolutely, to this day, exactly how I would try to express to someone how much Susie means to me.

I love you, Susie, happy anniversary. Everybody else, you know, carry on.