Chit-Chat Check-In #84 Transcript

Hello, this is your Captain speaking from Boulder, Colorado, where it's a winter wonderland. It snowed all day yesterday, and it's beautiful, if a little unexpected. Maybe not for people from around here, but coming from LA, it's a bit of a surprise. I'm not unhappy about it, but it's a little disorienting, to wake up and have it look like Christmas.

Anyway, I performed at Mavis's 85th birthday party on Sunday night. Wait, no, that wasn't Sunday night. (Laughs) That was Thursday night. Today's Saturday. I know where I am. It was beautiful, it was great to get to see Mavis, so many lovely people to be around. Great musicians. 

I was asked to sing this song, "One True Vine," by Don Was, who claimed it was one of his favorite songs. I played it, and I did a good enough job of it to make Bonnie Raitt and Mavis Staples cry. I don't know if that was good or bad. Either way, I apologized for making them cry.

This is a subdued version, because I always have a little bit of a ... I feel inhibited singing full-throated in a hotel room. But still, kind of thinking of this song and how much it means to me to get to write songs for Mavis, and how much she embraced and responded to this song, thinking about her family. 

This is, maybe, the quietest I've ever talked on a Chit-Chat Check-In. I don't know why. It's something about this room, it just feels, like, very echoey.

OK. Yeah. There's lots more to say, probably. But carry on.