Chit-Chat Check-In #82 Transcript

Hello, this is your Captain speaking, from the hazy world of jet lag. I'm having a tough time getting my mind wrapped around the new time zone. I wasn't in Australia that long, or Japan. I don't understand it--maybe I'm just tired overall. But I have to be honest, things are confusing right now. But I think that's happened before, especially coming from that direction, I think. But like I said, I can't really think that well. So maybe I'm just imagining something. Maybe I'm really sick? No, I don't think so.

Anyway, if you've read my book, my most recent book, there's a chapter in there about the song “I'm into Something Good” by Herman's Hermits. And there's a running joke in my house, because it's my wife Susie's favorite song of all time, maybe, next to “I'll Take You There,” that I've never really learned how to play it correctly, even though I've tried to make her happy with it. Then it became a running joke where I would get to the bridge and fall apart and Susie would get mad, like in a hilariously furious kind of way. Like “what gives?” I think every time.

It's been going on for thirty years maybe, and I finally learned it. But I want to tell Susie that the joke still isn't over, because I'm sure I'll forget it again soon. Because there's something so unnatural to the way that the bridge chords move to me, for some reason, that I'm sure I will forget again. Maybe within the hour. But I figured it out for right now. And that feels pretty good. It's been a long time coming.

And anyway, thanks to Mark and Crystal and Spencer and Jill, and everybody on the Starship, uh, staff (laughs)--our team--for taking over and making things easier on me as I've been traveling. I probably ... I really needed it. I don't know why. But it was a little more strenuous, maybe, than it's been in the past. Maybe because I'm still recovering from some surgery stuff, maybe? I don't feel bad. But my leg is still sore, a little bit. And the other one is not happy, the other hip. So that's going to happen before too long, too.

But I'm well. I hope you're all well. And what a great song, jeez. I can't believe it. I'm pretty sure it's Carole King who makes a song like this, and that's about it. Carry on.