Chit-Chat Check-In #80 Transcript

Jeff: Hello, this is your Captain speaking, sitting in the mess hall of the Starship Casual at the moment. I’m sitting in a different seat than I usually sit in, and it’s ... I kind of like it. I don’t know if you do this at home, but do you have chairs that you always sit in? Do you have your spots? I have to admit, I’m very much like that. I have spots around the Loft. And it’s very disturbing when people sit in my spot. Which happened just a little while ago with Cheryl Pawelski.

Cheryl: I’m sorry, Jeff.

Jeff: It’s fine, and we’re over it. It’s water under the bridge at this point. 

We’re working on some Wilco archives. Pretty exciting stuff. I’m also sitting with Crystal and Mark, who are going to go nuts in a few days, taking over the Starship while I adjust to a new time zone. I’m going to Japan with Wilco. You might get a Gear Talkin’, who knows what Crystal will come up with, she’s very imaginative. But anyway, this is the point of this Chit-Chat Check-In. To say hi to Cheryl. Hi, Cheryl.

Cheryl: Hi, Jeff.

Jeff: Again, I’m not bothered at all that you sat in my seat. 

Mark: You can tell because you don’t keep bringing it up.

Jeff: I’ve stopped thinking about it.

Cheryl: I’ve been properly disciplined.

Crystal: There are only two available seats at this table.

Cheryl: I understand. 

Jeff: It’s OK, really. Am I dwelling on it?

Mark: Five.

Jeff: Is that how many times I’ve mentioned it?

Mark: Six.

Crystal: If Tom came in and saw where you were sitting, he’d be upset, too.

Jeff: Let’s find out, let’s check it out. Let’s conduct that experiment. 

Mark: On a future Chit-Chat Check-In ...

Jeff: We’ll get back to you on that. Anyway, just wanted to give you a heads up. Maybe we’ll throw a song up here this week. I’m running around getting ready to leave—I have final doctor’s appointments before I can leave, for my hip. I’m excited about that. Maybe I’ll be able to soak in water after tomorrow—that’s one of my great pleasures in life, baths. So that would be nice.

I’ve given away too much information about myself in this Chit-Chat Check-In, I believe. Carry on.