Chit-Chat Check-In #70 Transcript

Hello, this is your Captain speaking. I'm on my way to the dentist for a checkup. Possibly a cleaning? I can't remember.

I just wanted to say hi. I'm still sorting through all of your questions, so don't feel that they've gone ignored. There's so many, and there are so many lovely things to respond to, that it's a bit overwhelming. Especially if you're a bit jet lagged and maybe a little bit overwhelmed to begin with.

But everything's good. I've been seeing a lot of stuff online about me saying negative things about Dylan and Bon Jovi. It's so stupid--I don't understand clickbait, I think that's what it is. I said I was a little bit disappointed in Bob Dylan's book. But I love Bob Dylan. And also I think people got an advance copy of my book book. And there's a chapter in it about Bon Jovi. But in the context of the book, it's meant to be kind of funny. I think Jon Bon Jovi is a good guy. That doesn't mean I have to like his music. But that's also not the point—the point in the book is, I don't know, that I didn't want to come across as an altruistic snob. So I had to lay into something, and emphasize my distaste for something. Because I think that's a natural thing, to have some repulsion to certain bands and music.

Anyway, Jon Bon Jovi, if you're listening, I love you brother. Bob Dylan, I'm pretty sure you're not listening. But you could never disappoint me. Even when you're disappointing, you're still being Bob Dylan, and that's kind of the miracle of the whole arrangement we have. Whether you know it or not.

Well, this is my effort to address the things that are on my mind without going online and participating in that world. I'm staying here, where we kind of know each other. We're kind of upfront about who we are, and what it is that we're saying and doing here. 

All right, expect some more music and some answers to your questions really soon, I would imagine. All right. Carry on.