272 Comments

Always love to hear about what Jeff can do but I'm still wondering when Susie is going to write a book about the Lounge Ax days. I was only lucky enough to see a few shows there but would love to read about how you ended up owning it and of course what happened from there.

Expand full comment

In the song "Hate it Here" Jeff claims to have done the laundry in the song. Is there any truth to that?

Expand full comment

Not so much a question as just a great memory. Perhaps, though, you could expand on the original person’s question.

I’m still thinking about an anonymous question posed by an audience member at Jeff Tweedy’s book event in Cincinnati in 2018: “I struggle with opioid addiction. As someone who went through this, what can you tell me to help me?”

The question itself was brave, a first step toward getting help. I hope the person listened to the answer and takes the next steps.

What Tweedy, who battled an addiction to painkillers, told the person was this: “Ask for help. Don’t be afraid to ask for help. Here’s a secret about people: we LIKE to help. We want to be needed. When you ask someone for help, you’re actually giving them a gift.”

Expand full comment

If we ever saw you guys walking down the street, minding your own business, should we, a) Walk by pretending we don’t recognize you?, b) Casually say “Loved Yankee Hotel Foxtrot” and keep walking? Or, c) Just smile and say to ourselves, “There goes Jeff and Susie, sweet!”?

Expand full comment

Hey Tweedys,

Like a lot of clients, The Tweedy Show became critical to maintaining our sanity over the past two years. But as time went by and we kept tuning in, we began to realize this other really beautiful thing— that you and your family had become a part of our lives in a way that no other artist or musician ever has. We were granted this incredible window into your home and at times it really felt like there was no divide—no “backstage” as it were, keeping the fans away. We lived our lives alongside yours.

The night we learned we were first pregnant, we watched the tweedy show. Throughout the entire pregnancy, you guys were there. Your brooklyn show was (even in utero) our baby’s first concert. And even though the Tweedy show has gone on to be aired a little irregularly— believe it or not, we watched from the hospital on the night our daughter was born!

One of our favorite things about the show is seeing what wonderful parents you are to Spencer and Sammy. They clearly think that absolute world of the two of you— so, as parents of a newborn, we’ve got to ask: what’s the secret? Or at the very least, what sort of advice do you have?

Thanks for all you do!

Expand full comment

Where do you guys get those rad glasses? I love them.

Expand full comment
founding

What typically happens after an episode of the Tweedy Show? What does everybody do? Split city or more jamming? Spirited discussions..?

Expand full comment

I just want you to know I love you so very much. Hauled my ass through the pandemic and brain surgery and a divorce. Brutal times made palatable by the Tweedy show and client siblings. Mwah.

Expand full comment

Which is larger--the number of guitars owned by Jeff or the number of pieces of vintage Pyrex owned by Susie?

Expand full comment

So my 16th month old daughter takes naps exclusively to Tweedy or Wilco. She requests Warm by raising her arms in the air like Jeff. It’s quite something. I’m wondering what kind of music did Sammy and Spencer use for naps as kids?

Expand full comment

Hello Jeff ! I liked your book "How to write one song" very much. I`ve even written a song actually ! My question: Could you please write another book, so I can write another song. That would be very helpful. Sincerely Stephan

Expand full comment

I admire your relationship as husband and wife as well as the relationships you have with your children. What advice do you have for parents like us with younger kids getting into the teen years?

Expand full comment
founding

This is a question for Susie: Do you ever read Jeff's lyrics and say, "Huh?"

Expand full comment

I think I heard you comment once that Generation X is the last generation to have lived through all the rapid changes in music media formats to the point we bought music in all of them (45, LP, cassette, CD, mp3 etc.). I'm at at the tail end of Gen X myself (born '79), but have vivid memories of buying all formats. I'm curious if you recall the first title you bought (or were gifted) in each format?

Here are mine:

- 45/7" single: Tears For Fears, "Shout" b/w "The Big Chair"

- Vinyl LP: Michael Jackson, Thriller

- CD: Garth Brooks, In Pieces (I'm not gonna lie and say I was cooler than I was)

- mp3: There's zero romance in remembering your first mp3 download, and I have no recollection of mine, but thanks to big data, my iTunes history says I downloaded three songs on the same day, Jun 25, 2006: My Morning Jacket's cover of "Wear Your Love Like Heaven," Wilco's cover of "Thirteen," and Wilco's "Just a Kid" from SpongeBob.

Expand full comment

Just a little side note. I went to a show last week with an old friend; she is a kick ass songwriter/musician who had stopped making music since the birth of her daughter. I am also a Mama and totally understand this conundrum. Any who we're chatting, and I ask her about writing lately and she says, "you know something crazy I read this book by Jeff Tweedy and it's really changing my process." FUCK YEAH!! She is feeling inspired by starting basic and everyday getting a little something down. There you go Mr. Tweedy; changing and inspiring lives. Hope your teeth feel better soon.

Expand full comment

I'm dying to hear yours and Jeff's opinion on in between song banter (from the stage) during live shows. I feel like Jeff is quite adept at this. While maybe not essential I think good banter really enhances the live music experience

Expand full comment

Jeff: favorite Springsteen, Dead, and Neil Young songs?

Susie: favorite traditional Jewish meal?

Expand full comment

What acoustic guitar (in the size of his parlor vintage Martin 00) would Jeff recommend in a lower price level? Thanks

Expand full comment
founding

Being vegetarians, do you eat Animal Crackers? Why or why not?

Expand full comment

susie: what is a dream bill for a show that you wish you could have booked (talent from anytime living or dead)? jeff: what is a dream bill that you would want to play on (talent from anytime living or dead).

Expand full comment

Susie - I'm guessing Jeff often demos songs to you with just an acoustic. Was wondering your thought hearing something like "Dreamed about killing you again last night" or "Cheer up, honey I hope you can. There is something wrong with me" for the first time.

Expand full comment

Does Jeff have any tips, tricks, anecdotes, or remedies for anxiety and the like? He is very wise and I'd imagine he has clues for easing a worried mind.

Expand full comment
founding

I would love to know more about the visual designs for the live shows. How do those themes come about -- is it collaborative or do you just have one of the best visual designers out there? (probably both?) I was blown away by all the visuals this fall on the Ode to Joy tour (coulda been the gummies, tho 😁 ) the "Enchanted Forest" was incredible in 2016 too. 💗

Expand full comment

Hi there! Wondering if Jeff has explored Brazilian music and if he has some favorite artists?

Expand full comment

Jeff, tell me how to stop drinking…..

Expand full comment

After observing one angle of your (Jeff & Susie’s) relationship with your sons for a couple of years now and seeing what incredible young men they have become, I’d love to know more about how you approached parenting and any lessons you’ve learned that would be helpful to parents with younger kids. <3

Expand full comment

Jeff, if you were starting out in music in 2021, how would you put your music out in the world if you had limited resources?

Expand full comment

So many questions. Should you guys maybe move to Minnesota? Your husband Nick Offerman could visit when he fishes in the summer. Will there be a book about Susie, Megan Mulally and Paula Saunders hanging out for a week together, and where will you go?

Expand full comment

Where does Jeff recommend looking for new bands or artists to hear?

Expand full comment

Does anyone else think of Spencer when Glyn Johns appears in the Beatles Get Back documentary?

Expand full comment

Hey Jeff, Did you meet Canadian Jesus aka Gord Downie of The Tragically Hip when playing on Roadside Attraction back in the day?

Expand full comment
founding

In "Save It For Me," you sing, "When the world falls apart I can say with certainty there's a reason." I have typically associated this line of thinking as belonging to religion (God has a plan/everything happens for a reason), obviously my own bias but also something that doesn't resonate with me. However, I don't picture you viewing the world that, either. Would you be willing to share some of your thoughts on that line? Do you mean there's a greater/cosmic force influencing events? Or is it more like you made this falling apart happen, so now you get to fix it--which will ultimately be good for you? Or none of the above? Or maybe this is what it looks like when I "hang on every line...still wondering if I know who you are." :)

Expand full comment

Just a comment. You two make my heart happy. I appreciate you so much. 💜

Expand full comment

I'm from Glasgow, Scotland and still feel bad about the fight that broke out at a Wilco gig in 2011. We're really not all like that! I wondered if, when stuff like that happens, it alters your view of playing that city or town again? (I'm glad you've came back to Scotland a few times since) Also, on a similar theme - does it feel different playing shows in Europe compare to the US in general?

Expand full comment
founding

How did you do parenting so well?

Expand full comment

Any chance we will get an R.E.M. cover on the Tweedy show?

Expand full comment
founding

Hi Jeff and Susie. British comedian Allan Carr is quoted as saying, “You should never meet your heroes.” Have you found this to be true? And, do you worry that someone might feel that way about you? (BTW, the second question is strictly hypothetical.)

Expand full comment
founding

Hi Jeff, Do you have a specific method of dealing with the losses in your life (could be people or things)? For instance, using your sadness/frustration to create something from the losses that can help you let go of them? Great job reaching out to all of us through Starship Casual. Hi Susie!

Expand full comment

Does Nels get sick of playing the Impossible Germany solo? Fans always expect it at your shows, and it rocks, and Nels looks like he gets into it. But, man, he must be like....this again? I guess this can apply to your thoughts on any song that gets played habitually.

Expand full comment

Tracy K. Smith is a genius. What a line-up! Wish I was there!

Q: Do you think that Susie being in the 'music industry' at the time you met, contributed in any way to the success of your long marriage? I don't mean 'woman behind the man' kind of thing, but more the opposite: she knew what a musician's life is like, what it takes, because she worked with bands all the time; I imagine she wasn't intimidated/starstruck finding herself at an event seated next to ________ (insert well-known musician name here). She owned her own music club and booked musicians, so she must have been comfortable in your element. It wasn't new to her.

Expand full comment

If you could only keep a couple of your songs, which ones would you keep?

Expand full comment

Hi Jeff and Sue, long time listener..first time poster.

Way back in 2000 you guys did a show at the blue note in Columbia Mo (summerteeth tour). As I recall it was recorded, I think it was part of the something called the digital club network. I’ve searched for years for the footage without any luck. Does it exist? If so where can I find it? My wife and I were able to hang out with you guys in the alley after the show. We have a lot of great memories from the past 20+ years of Wilco shows and would love to relive that night! Thank you!

Expand full comment

Could you show Jeffs right Hand technique on guitar on one of the tweedy shows? Thank you!!!!!

Expand full comment

How did Spencer and Sammy wind up so cool, and was there times where you questioned how they'd progress as they grew up? ;-)

Expand full comment

Hi, I think Jeff is one of the great songwriters of our time. Does he sometimes jot things down on a notepad when he or someone else says or does something inspiring? Like 'hey, that's a great line! when he says or thinks 'why kill a man when you can drive him crazy? or does he think of those great lyrics only when writing a melody?

Expand full comment

Hi Susie,

I’m curious to know if “War on War” was inspired by the Bufo Alvarius (Sonoran Desert Toad) venom that’s vaporized and inhaled? Strange question, I know, but those lyrics are spot on relative to the experience.

Expand full comment
founding

What are your favorite:

-fiction

-self-help

-biography

books?

Expand full comment

Beatles' song for Wilco?

Expand full comment
founding

Using my husband's account ask but I need your (and Susie's opinion)! My husband loves his Redwings! He hates to take them off! I want to have a shoes off house because I am the only one who vacuums or sweeps and we have hardwood and a cat. He keeps them next to the couch and wears them like slippers and it's driving me crazy! What should I do? He won't stop and it's causing us grief! Am I uptight or is it fair to be frustrated? He just laughs and says I have no idea how comfy they are! 😒 How does Susie handle your inhouse boot wearing?

Expand full comment
founding

Susie -- did you book Naked Raygun at Cubby Bear in the early 80s? Dave Grohl credits it as his first punk rock show. It would make total sense that you are the genesis of Dave Grohl's rock story too. xo

Expand full comment